Day 1 in the Open Air: A Confession {31 Days}

art credit: Kelinda Ganow

art credit: Kelinda Ganow

As I mentioned yesterday, I am joining The Nester for her 31 Days of blogging. Which means there will be a new post here every single day of October. Unless it gets too hard and I quit. Just kidding! I’m not a quitter. (Yes I am). As we settle in for the long haul, I want you to know a few things about me.

I am an amateur. I have forayed into various aspects of outdoor life: kayakingcamping, backpacking, and super-hiking. I have dallied in all sorts of outdoorsy events, but I am an expert at none. I simply can’t (or maybe just won’t) give the committed time and attention to one sporty endeavor– and why would I when there are so many other great things to try?

I don’t have any adventures on the docket this month. I will be working quite a bit, we have some visitors coming into town, and I told myself that I would give myself a break after the Super Hike. (Which was three weeks ago. So this is a long break).

I live in a small town outside of Philadelphia. Not Colorado, or Utah, or Wyoming, or any other place that practically begs you to get outdoors. I’m not exactly urban, but I’m not a hop-skip-and-jump away from the Grand Canyon either.

My dog just had surgery. I know what you’re thinking: What a weird thing to say. Where is this going? You see, my dog is often my main excuse to get outside. He is a one year old golden doodle and he is, as they say, crazy. He needs to get his energy out, and we do that by going for a walk in the woods. But, since he just had a washcloth removed from his small intestine (don’t ask), and he needs to take it easy, I will need to find some extra motivation to get out there.

What I am trying to tell you is this: there is nothing special going on here. I don’t have extra resources that you don’t have, or extra time that you don’t have, or some crazy passion that you don’t have. I am an average joe here, trying to spend some time outside because it is so good. And for the next 30 days, we’ll find out why.

What about you? Do you get outside? What are some of your favorite things to do?

3 thoughts on “Day 1 in the Open Air: A Confession {31 Days}

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Being Out in the Open Air | two green kayaks

  2. You inspire us to get outdoors ourselves ! We are with you so far, we took a two hour bike ride from the stone arch bridge to Minnehaha falls and back yesterday ! And we are off to a hike this morning….thanks for sharing your infectious enthusiasm for enjoying the outdoors.

Leave a Reply

