A Saturday Morning at Home

photo (80)

This is my first Saturday morning at home since June. Shawn is golfing and Mowgli spent the night at the vet (hopefully passing the sock he ate). I made blueberry crisp, a second pot of coffee, and I am scheming ways to use all these vegetables that I stole from a friends garden. And blogging.

I am thinking about participating in The Nester’s 31 Day Blogging Challenge beginning on October 1st. I heard about it too late last year, and admired the people (all 1,200 of them!) that wrote for every single day of October. It seems like a worthwhile challenge. But, I need to think of a theme. And then apparently I need to make a button? I don’t which seems harder, button-making or blogging for 31 days straight. If I don’t start next Tuesday, you’ll know its because I couldn’t for the life of me make a button.

A few of my favorites from the internet recently:

School is no Place for a Reader by Jennifer A. Franssen. I simultaneously relate to this as the child reader and as the adult that asks kids to put down the book and play. Encouraged and convicted.

Crossing Paths on the Rouge River by Wilderness Dave. This encapsulates the beauty and power of spending your life outdoors and sharing it with others.

Embracing the Tension by Rebekah Lyons. It seems like all of my favorite authors will be speaking at this conference. So I have to go, right?

I’m currently reading Life After Art by Matt Appling and I want to recommend it to my artist friends and my teacher friends and my non-artist friends and my non-teacher friends. It’s really good. I’ve already worked it in to a few conversations at work this week about how we can encourage “creating” at the youth center.

Have a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “A Saturday Morning at Home

Leave a Reply

