Summer Fiction Faves

summer reading 2013

Summer is the season for fiction, right? My life as a reader was forever changed this summer when my parents got me a kindle for my birthday. Since then, I have been flying through some delicious stories, and I’ll share a few of my favorites with you.

Where’d You Go Bernadette? by Maria Semple. Bernadette’s daughter is piecing together clues from her disappearance using letters, bills, emails, etc. That format takes a little getting used to, but you’re quickly hooked on the story. The premise sounds more mystery/thriller, but this is much more light-hearted and funny.

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. Alice collapses at the gym and wakes up with memory loss, thinking she is ten years younger. The reader walks alongside her as she pieces together the missing years of her life: the birth of her kids, her evolving friendships, and her divorce. I couldn’t put it down.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I loved this and I hated it. In a good way. I can’t seem to recap it without giving it away, so I’ll just say that I totally recommend it. I’ve kept thinking about the story and the questions it raises long after I finished the last chapter.

I’ve fallen back into a non-fiction routine with the arrival of September, but I’m on the prowl for some good fiction to take with me on our cruise next month. What have you been reading lately?

Leave a Reply

