Five Things I Want To Remember if I Ever Do This Super Hike Thing Again

I’m not saying I’m going to do it again. But I might. And if I do, or if I ever do some sort of hiking thing again, or if you ever do the super hike, or if you ever do some sort of hiking thing again…. these are things I want to remember.

So really, lets just call these good hiking tips. And they are especially good if you are hiking an especially long distance. In one day. Along the Susquehanna River.

WITHOUT FURTHER ADO:

1. Hike with trekking poles. I used some like these from Black Diamond. Mostly I just looked great stepping one foot in front of the other, but there were definitely times when I planted both poles in the ground a few feet in front of me and literally pulled myself forward. All-in-all: indispensable.

2. Wear hiking shoes with room for your toes. I know that this is how-to-fit-a-hiking-boot-101, but I failed at that this past weekend I am paying for it now with nasty blisters. You walk downhill a lot on this course, and my toes spent a lot of time jammed up against the top of my shoe.

3. Eat PayDay bars. I’m in love. I will bring these on every hiking trip from now on.

4. Hydrate the day before. I don’t remember where I first heard this, but it made all the difference. I guzzled water all day Friday, and I felt well-hydrated with great energy on Saturday– and I may have gone through less water than I would have otherwise.

5. Running music is not the same as hiking music. I rarely run with music, and I never hike with music, but after 26 miles on Saturday, I needed a little distraction. I read once that when running, you should listen to music that mimics your heart beat– fast. Makes sense. But with a slower pace on this hike, I found myself preferring slower music that matched my speed and breathing a little better.

There ya go. If I do the Susquehanna Super Hike next year, remind me to look back at this post.

What hiking tips would you add this list?

Leave a Reply

