29.6 Mile Hike in Under 11.5 Hours in September, 2013

photo

I finally committed. My friend Howie told me about the Susquehanna Super Hike months ago, and it’s been on my mind ever since. The Susquehanna River is one of our favorite places to hike and paddle– and it also happens to be where we got engaged. The trails range from flat and easy to steep and strenuous and wanders through both Maryland and Pennsylvania. Some people do this event as an ultra-trail-run, like the winner who ran it in 5 hours and 16 minutes last year. That will not be me. I will be attempting to finish, after hiking 29.6 miles in under 11 and a half hours.

I think it’s slightly crazy and absurd, and I am really excited. The hike itself sounds cool, and the race will be a major challenge. But, if I’m honest with you, I’m really just excited to have an excuse to do some major hiking this summer. Call it training. I have been lackadaisical in my workouts lately (although I did make it to an early yoga class last week), and I need some motivation! So here it is. Thirty miles in one day. Bring it on.

5 thoughts on “29.6 Mile Hike in Under 11.5 Hours in September, 2013

  1. Pingback: How Exactly Does One Train for a Super Hike? | two green kayaks

  2. Pingback: Mason Dixon Trail {Pennsylvania} | two green kayaks

  3. Pingback: Urey Overlook {Pennsylvania} | two green kayaks

  4. Pingback: OH THE HILLS. | two green kayaks

  5. Pingback: Kelly’s Run Trails {Pennsylvania} | two green kayaks

Leave a Reply

