The Books Currently On My Nightstand

I have been failing as a reader lately. I’m usually a read-before-bed kind of person, and a read-on-the-weekend-while-my-husband-is-golfing kind of person. But I’ve had a few late nights at work the past few weeks, and busy weekends, and I haven’t been reading. I’m also usually a finish-one-book-before-you-start-the-next kind of person, but for some reason I have three books on my nightstand that I have started and haven’t finished. And one that I have finished, and another one that I haven’t started. Yikes.

I Capture the Castle

I finished I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith. Which was originally published in the 50s. But who doesn’t love a coming of age story, right? And who doesn’t love books that take place in England? It took me a little while to get into it, but the end sucked me in and it flew by. It’s still on my nightstand because I haven’t taken it back to the library.

 

DownloadedFileI am in the middle of A Blistered Kind Of Love by Angela and Duffy Ballard. I borrowed this one from the library as well, and I am waiting to take back both books at the same time. I have renewed both books twice. Anyway. This book is about a couple that hikes the Pacific Crest Trail. Which I always find fascinating. I’m still in the middle of their story, but I assume that they make it, since they wrote a book. We’ll see.

 

DownloadedFile-1

I am in the middle of Daring Greatly by Brene Brown. I read this quickly when I first started it, but then I needed a break from the deep thinking and soul searching. I mean, its great. And I learned a lot, and I am excited to finish it. But sometimes, after a lot of introspection, you just need some light fiction, you know?

 

DownloadedFile-2

I am in the middle of Women, Food, and God by Geneen Roth. I’ve heard this book recommended a number of times, and this is the second time I’ve started to read it. Some parts I don’t totally get, but every now and then there is a paragraph where I am like “Yes.” I started it when we were doing our Whole 30 Cleanse, but once we stopped, my drive to read it dwindled.

 

DownloadedFile-3

I am waiting to start The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls. People have raved about this book for a while, and then a few weeks ago one of my students at the youth center picked it out for me to read. (I selected The Help for her to read). But I can’t start a book when I have three that I have to finish. That would just be irresponsible.

 

What have you been reading lately?
Do you read multiple books at once or one at a time?

4 thoughts on “The Books Currently On My Nightstand

  1. I am totally a read one at a time type of girl… unless I just can’t get into one, then I may read a little and come back to it with other books in between. I have been really plowing through the books though…. since I am able to find so many Indie authors on my Amazon kindle with cheap prices. Sometimes they are BIG winners.. sometimes they aren’t but it is kind of fun finding new authors that you probably would never hear of otherwise.

    • That’s a great idea! I really need to be more brave when it comes to trying authors I haven’t heard of. I’ll have to look at Amazon! Do you have any favorites that surprised you?

      • Well I appear to read a little bit of a different genre then you 🙂 But my favorite so fast is The Dweller Series by David Estes — It is a Young Adult, coming of age, dystopian series. — Once you start reading a couple, then Amazon will continuously recommend other ones to you, which I first annoyed me, but now I actually buy and read most of their recommendations. Lol

Leave a Reply

