Beach Camping

I can finally check beach camping off my bucket list. We spent a few days camping last week while we were in Florida, and it was exactly what I needed. I also can cross Gift From The Sea off my to-read list. And can I just tell you? I loved it. Fifty years later, people are still writing– and blogging– the same things Lindbergh wrote about. The outdoors, simple living, relationships, feminism– she had it all. It may be in my top five books of all time.

DSCN0566

DSCN0546

“How wonderful are Islands! Islands in space, like this one I have come to, ringed about by miles of water, linked by no bridges, no cables, no telephones. An island from the world and the world’s life. Islands in time, like this short vacation of mine. The past and the future are cut off; only the present remains. Existence in the present gives island living an extreme vividness and purity. One lives like a child or a saint in the immediacy of the here and now.” —Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift From The Sea

DSCN0577

shark tooth collage

“Beauty of earth and sea and air meant more to me. I was in harmony with it, melted into the universe, lost in it, as one is lost in a canticle of praise, swelling from an unknown crowd in a cathedral.” —Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift From The Sea

photo-44

DSCN0525

“The solution for me, surely, is neither in total renunciation of the world, nor in total acceptance of it. I must find a balance somewhere, or an alternating rhythm between these two extremes; a swinging of the pendulum between solitude and communion, between retreat and return. In my periods of retreat, perhaps I can learn something to carry back into my worldly life.” Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift From The Sea

DSCN0520

Leave a Reply

