Fridays are for Going to Disney World.

photo-37

This is it! We are off to Florida today for our “racecation”. And in honor of my very first half marathon, I thought I would do a little recap of my training thus far.

Using a Couch to 5K app on my phone, I started, well, walking back in September. In my brand new barefoot-style shoes. And worked my way up to running 3 miles, which was a major accomplishment. And that was where my 13.1 Training Plan started! A month or two later, I ran my first true long run: 7 miles on a snowy Saturday morning. And then I ran 8 miles. And then I quit the Run Disney training plan, because I was so far behind, and adopted a modified one– and ran 9 miles. And then 10 miles. Finishing with… 11 miles two weeks ago. Not quite the 13 that I wanted, or the 14 that Jeff Galloway and Run Disney recommend, but thats as close as we’re going to get!

I was planning to do a post about my awesome Pocahontas running costume… But it was basically a DIY disaster. So I might “princessorize”, to quote my friend Abby, when I get down to Florida.

Maybe this is true for all races, but there seems to be a lot of social media hype surrounding this weekend. I will probably get swept up in the excitement, so if you want you can follow me on twitter or on instagram. I’ll be back here next week with a [hopefully positive] race recap!

Have an awesome weekend!

3 thoughts on “Fridays are for Going to Disney World.

Leave a Reply

