What Is Supposed to Be an 11 Mile Recap

When I first started training for a half marathon, I asked one of the kids at my work– who had run a number of marathons– for advice. His one suggestion? Don’t skip your long runs.

Whoops.

We were visiting family last week in Minnesota. We woke up to -14 degrees on Friday. I managed to get a run in at the gym with my friend Laura, which was fun, but when Saturday rolled around… I couldn’t seem to fit a 2 1/2 hour run in between eating giant pancakes with my friend Brianna and shopping for shoes with my mom. And yesterday was spent traveling home, picking up the dog, picking up our car, and… napping. And then attending a Super Bowl party.

I did manage to sneak in a 3 mile run before the Super Bowl.

My vacation priorities won out over my running priorities. Maybe this further solidifies my amateur runner status.  I have never trained for a half-marathon before, so I really have no idea how great an error this is. And because I have nothing to compare it to, I might not ever know.

And did I mention the half-marathon is three weeks away?

Leave a Reply

