Favorite Books From 2012

books

I have been adding books to my to-read list for 2013, which has got me thinking about my favorite books from 2012. Not all were published in 2012– I’m not that up to date. Some are older, but were new to me this year. Here are some of my faves (in no particular order):

1. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. An excellent blend of fascinating research and practical advice, this is a life-changer. Introvert or not, I recommend it.

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Teen Fiction! But seriously, it’s so good. Regardless of whether or not you are a teen. Warning: I cried through the last 40 pages. Its one where I don’t know if I want to watch the movie when it comes out, for fear it will ruin the book.

3. Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen by Christopher McDougall. Even as a non-runner, this was fascinating. And I think it did help jump-start my current running routine.

4. Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World by Bob Goff. I have since wanted to add the words “whimsy” and “caper” to my vocabulary. And all the profits from the book sales go to funding schools in Uganda!

5. 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker. A brilliant look at “excess” from within the evangelical world. Challenging and endearing.

6. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed. Thank you Oprah! I had to wait forever in “hold” queue at the library, but it was well worth it.

7. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. This is the story of Ernest Hemingway’s first wife. I love historical fiction, and this did not disappoint.

8. Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memior… Of Sorts by Ian Cron. What can I say, I like a good “spiritual” memoir. A few images and messages from this book have stayed with me since I finished it– which means it must be good.

9. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson. Hilarious and sometimes wildly inappropriate. But mostly just hilarious.

10. Dinner: A Love Story: It All Begins At The Family Table by Jenny Rosenstarch. I actually read this cookbook cover-to-cover. And if the stories are good, the recipes are even better.

Any favorites from this year that I missed?

Leave a Reply

