Merry Christmas!

DSC01431

I have been throwing myself a bit of a pity-party this December. This will be my first Christmas away from home. Well, thats how it feels. Really, it will be my first Christmas in my current home on the east coast. But it will be my first Christmas not waking up in my parent’s house, to a white christmas, to filled stockings and waffles. Not eating my dad’s russian tea cakes. Not watching Christmas movies with my brother. And, rightfully so, it makes me sad.

I am so thankful to have a healthy and happy family to be homesick for this Christmas.

DSC01389

This year, advent has transformed from being a count-down calendar my granny sends me every year to something I feel in my bones, like cold weather in arthritic knees. I know it, the desperation and longing and anticipation. The wretchedness of this world is plain for all to see this Christmas.

I am so thankful for the answer to advent: God With Us.

yet in thy dark streets shineth
the everlasting Light;
the hopes and fears of all the years
are met in thee tonight.

–O Little Town of Bethlehem

476227_694413039094_47524931_o

From our little family to yours,

Merry Christmas!

One thought on “Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

